My Ol’ Books

In Due Time

So Shall It Be

Behind the Mask

Several years ago, I self-published three books: In Due Time Part One, So Shall It Be, and Behind the Mask. When I finished writing the first one, I had absolutely no idea how to get it published. All I knew was that I wanted to be a writer so bad and that I wanted to see my work in print. Well, I was able to self-publish all three of them and although they didn’t go on to become best-sellers, I was still so thankful that I was able to accomplish something as great as writing a book. When In Due Time was self-published, I was twenty-nine years old and it was the best day of my life to be able to have my first book with my name on it and to be the only one in my family that had published a book.

A year after that, I self-published So Shall It Be and in 2009, I self-published Behind the Mask. After that, I didn’t write anything else because LIFE got in the way. Welp, it’s almost 2014 and I’m back at it again, working on my first novel. As I review the books that I’ve done in the past…I cringe. LOL!!! I don’t even know why they’re listed on the front as “novels” when they were just regular books written by an overzealous writer that didn’t catch all of the grammatical errors in them. LOL!!! I can be honest enough to say that I absolutely hate my earlier works but I loved the fact that I at least had the confidence to create something from my own hands.

My point is that I didn’t beat myself up about my past failures. Besides, most people who are successful had to deal with failure…and more than once. The only difference between the successors and millions of other people is that the successors DID NOT QUIT. When they’ve failed at something, they went back and looked at their errors to see what they did wrong. Then they took the steps that was needed in order to correct those errors to become successful. This is the same concept that professional boxers use. If a boxer goes into the ring and gets his butt kicked, he doesn’t just give up his boxing gloves and go get a 9-to-5 job. He sucks up the loss and spends astronomical hours training to do better so that when he gets back into the ring, HE WILL KICK ASS.

Anyway, I’m starting fresh and I’m looking forward to it. I plan to be one of the best by putting in a massive amount of hours into my craft and working much harder than before. I am going after my dream as if I’m the ONLY ONE that can bring home the title. While others sleep, while others spend hours watching TV, while others party in the clubs, while others complain about their life, I will work to be the best. This is my life and while I have breath in my body, I will not stop until I am who I want to be.

Sonica

Copyright © 2013 by Sonica Jackson

***The views and opinions expressed here on my website are solely those of myself and do not in any way represent the views and opinions of WordPress or anyone else.

Leave a Reply

