The Dope Game

With the economy being as bad as it is, people are considering taking desperate measures in order to survive. And honestly, who am I to judge them? Every day, more and more people are being let go from their jobs, gas is sinfully high, bills are flowing heavier than a menstrual cycle, rent is increasing and don’t even get me started on the foreclosures that’s happening every day. So now, there are many people that are playing in the dope game in order to put food on the table and keep the bills paid up. I don’t condone it…but I totally understand.

Believe me, in my darkest hour I have sat down with hot tears flowing down my face because I was faced with soooo much at one time and all these corporate jobs was disappointing the hell outta me. It was then in my darkest hour that I played with the thought of selling dope and since I knew people at the time that was selling it, I was tempted to do so. But I just couldn’t allow myself to go that far and put myself in that type of danger. Have I ever been a part of the dope game? Nope. I have guts but in order to play in that field, you not only have to have guts but you also have to have an enormous size of elephant balls.

It’s no secret that plenty of men (and women) sell dope because they don’t know what else to do in order to feed their families. They’ve run out of options and employers are not hiring like they used to because the employers are too busy firing folks without any damn good reason. Especially in Georgia. Let me inform y’all of something: There are several states that are “at will” states. Georgia is one of them. “At will” means that an employer can let you go for ANY reason or without a reason. For example, if an employer doesn’t like the fact that you have a big ass, that employer can fire you on the spot.

So that’s why I don’t turn up my nose or roll my eyes when people are doing things the “illegal” way because I know exactly how hard it is to make it when you’re trying to do things the so-called “honest” way. I don’t judge them and neither should anyone else because you just never know what you may have to do in order to eat and keep shelter.

I don’t think that I will ever have the guts to sell dope but I’m not gonna lie: that money is VERY tempting. However, I must admit that God has always showed up in the nick of time before I’ve gone out and did something bold that may have either gotten me locked up or smoked out. Now you may be saying to yourself, “I’ll never do that. I’m too smart to get involved in that. That’s beneath me. It’s not the right thing to do and blah, blah, blah.” Yeah, whatever. Just like my Pastor said, “You never know what you might do until you’re tempted.”

If the government made it legal and started getting a cut from it, the malls would be carrying it, grocery stores would carry it, gas stations would carry it, and police officers (especially in Dekalb County) would be buying it by the boxes for their own personal use. Could you imagine a Call Center taking orders over the phone to ship dope to their customers? The greeting would probably go something like this: Hello! Thank you for calling “Dope Fiend Enterprises.” How high would you like to get today?

Sonica

Copyright © 2013 by Sonica Jackson

***The views and opinions expressed here on my website are solely those of myself and do not in any way represent the views and opinions of WordPress or anyone else.

Leave a Reply

