Unemployment Hell

A while back, I was chatting with a few people that were recently laid off from their jobs and they both were feeling the pressure of not being able to find work in order to pay their bills. I’ve been there so I knew exactly what they were going thru. What’s worse is that the people I was holding a conversation with are highly educated but can’t even get a job at Burger King! What the what!?! But as I was talking to them, I realized why they haven’t been able to find any jobs. And believe me, it’s not their fault. Here’s why:

1. The Runaround– When people are looking for work, the LAST thing that they wanna do is waste time and gas, dealing with an employer that has no intentions of hiring them in the first place. I myself remember going on interviews in the past when an employer has said to me, “Well, we’re not hiring right now but we will be hiring in the near future. So that’s why we called you in for an interview.” So with all the crazy time that I wasted trying to get a job with the We’re Not Hiring corporation, I could’ve used that time to go find a job with a corporation that actually did have positions available. So when my two friends told me that they went thru this type of ordeal, I understood.

2. So-Called Over-Qualified– A person who may have years of experience in computer technology, human resources or healthcare, will have the hardest time finding the most simplest job in order to make ends meet, due to them being over-qualified. It seems like a person has to have five years of experience in a restaurant in order to cook scattered hashbrowns at restaurant. In other words, you have to damn near have certifications just to get a job that a five-year old can do. How hard is it to put groceries in a damn bag? How hard is it to put clothes on a rack? If a person used to be a nursing assistant, clearly they know how to put a hamburger on a bun and place it in a paper bag.

3. The I-Don’t-Give-A-Damn Syndrome- Even with this world being corrupt, more people losing jobs, and the economy not getting any better, you still have plenty of employers who just don’t give a damn. And why? Because it’s not them that’s looking for a job. Some of them don’t care nor do they take into consideration that you may have mouths to feed or that you may have received your last unemployment check. They don’t care that Georgia Power is threatening to shut your lights off and that you just received an eviction notice on your door and you have no means to pay your rent. It is because of that syndrome that certain employers will never understand how insensitive they are being to the job candidate until they themselves are the ones that are out of a job and have to go thru the same rat race that other job seekers are going thru. I remember a while back when I applied for a job, got called in for an interview, went to the interview and was told that I would be given a call back “in a few days”. Well, a “few days” came and went and so I took the initiative of calling the employer to find out if I was still being considered for the job. Instead of the employer understanding that I was interested in the job, she was rude and made it clear that she didn’t appreciate the fact that I called to see if I was still being considered for the job. I thought to myself, Well excuse the hell outta me for calling you about my application, Ms. I-Have-A-Job. Let’s see what happens when the shoe is on the other foot. Employers, I understand that you can’t hire everyone but you need to at least get a grip on life and realize that in this day and age, NOBODY’s job is secure…including yours. The same day that you choose to be insensitive to an unemployed person may be the same day that YOU receive a pink slip of your own. So to all the employers out there, treat people the way that you would want to be treated if YOU were looking for a job.

4. Bologna Job Search Websites/Agencies– There’s nothing worse for a job seeker than for one to be looking for a job on a job search website and finding out that the position you’re applying for is either fake, has expired, or the “job” just want your personal information so that they can sell you something. There’s one job search website that will allow employers to post the SAME position damn near ten times in a row. Wouldn’t that be considered spam? Hmmm. Or how about there are certain temp agencies that chooses to put people thru hell by having them fill out tons of paperwork just to put it in a file, store it away, and never bother to look for positions that may be suitable for the job candidate. I guess that happens when the workers at the temp agency gets bored and so they decide to call people and have them come down to the agency and waste a lot of time. What a shame.

Well, my dear job seekers, if you are like me and refuse to sell drugs or sell your ass in order to make ends meet, you’re gonna have to find out what your hustle is and make it work for you in order to survive in this economy. That’s the same advice that I gave my friends. When I saw the possibility of me being able to be a writer, I took the bull by the horns and I refuse to let go until I finally make it. Don’t get me wrong though; trying to make your dreams come true while still working at your day job is A LOT of hard work. It’s no fun day at the park. But since I want my dreams to come true, I’m gonna get it done. And that’s because I know what it’s like to look for a job, get a job, lose the job, return back to the rat race, and come up short.

Sonica

Copyright © 2013 by Sonica Jackson

***The views and opinions expressed here on my website are solely those of myself and do not in any way represent the views and opinions of WordPress or anyone else.

Here’s a video from comedian Kain Carter on his opinion about looking for a job. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

